News Revealing insights

CASE STUDY – Jodie Cunnington-Brock

7 December 2018 | Category

Jodie Cunnington-Brock nplawJodie Cunnington-Brock

Joined nplaw in September 2018
Trainee Solicitor – Dispute Resolution Team

Tell us about your career journey

In the final year of my LLB degree I studied housing law and subsequently wrote a dissertation on the impact of the Human Rights Act on Housing Law. I had a real passion for the subject and whilst undertaking the LPC on a part time basis I worked for a local housing association, carrying out simple possession claims and supporting the senior management team. To further my career I decided not to actively seek a training contract and to pursue my career in social housing, which I did for a further 10 years! After achieving my goal of being a senior manager, and effectively delivering front line housing management services to over 10,000 customers, over 3 counties I decided it was time for a new challenge. I wanted to stay in the public sector and pursue my career in law.

Please outline your area of expertise. What might you do in a typical day?

I’m in my first seat in the Dispute Resolution Team. I am currently working on complex housing possession claims, debt recovery and prosecutions.

What do you enjoy most about your role?

The variety of work and level of responsibility. I have my own cases and clients to manage and a well experienced team to ask for guidance!

What is the biggest opportunity you have been given since joining nplaw?

I’ve instructed and sat behind counsel on 2 matters and have presented cases in the county court. Due to my previous experience I’ve been able to provide practical advice to clients on day to day management of cases.

What is your proudest achievement at work?

I’ve not been at nplaw long enough, but I think I’m very lucky to have had 2 careers that I have thoroughly enjoyed.

Why did you choose to work at nplaw?

I wanted to progress my career in the public sector and in the law. I’m a values orientated person and the nplaw client group is a good match to my skillset.

What is the work/life balance and the wider culture like?

The culture of nplaw is very positive and inclusive. Since joining the team I have been made to feel very welcome. It was a big leap for me to leave my previous employer of 10 years, but I have been able to build friendships already. I have a young family and am able to work flexibly in a way that meets the needs of the business and my family.

What do you do out of work and what is your proudest achievement out of work?

I am very grateful to have a supportive family and wonderful friendship group. Outside of work I enjoy, good company, good food and good wine!

What do you enjoy most about living in Norfolk?

Norwich lives up to its description, it really is a fine city. The shopping is great and there is a wonderful selection of independent eateries. Whilst Norfolk may be a bit flat, it does provide a beautiful landscape. The quiet lanes are perfect for bike rides, there’s a variety of woodland walks and you’re never more than an hour away from the coast.