News Revealing insights

CASE STUDY – Bethany Stokes

7 December 2018 | Category

bethany stokes nplawBethany Stokes

Joined nplaw in September 2018
Trainee Solicitor
Property Team until January and then Dispute Resolution Team

Tell us about your career journey

I graduated from De Montfort University with a first-class law degree and then stayed on to study the Legal Practice Course which I completed with a Distinction. Whilst doing this, I worked as a Judicial Assistant for a visually impaired District Judge/Recorder gaining an insight into civil and family law matters. I then began my training contract with nplaw in September 2018.

Please outline your area of expertise. What might you do in a typical day?

I am currently doing a seat in the Property team. I have been working on a range of matters including s38 agreements, right to buy transactions, deeds of covenant, auction sales and questions relating to school properties.

What do you enjoy most about your role?

I am enjoying putting into practice and developing the skills I learnt at university and learning about specific procedures and areas of the law.

What is the biggest opportunity you have been given since joining nplaw?

I recently took the lead on an urgent piece of work in the Property team. It was a big project that was divided amongst the team and I was required to oversee and put together the final report.

What is your proudest achievement at work?

I think this would be working on the project mentioned above. It was an excellent opportunity and the project went smoothly and was delivered on time. The rest of the team were great and through discussions of the project with my supervisor/team lead I learnt a lot.

Why did you choose to work at nplaw?

I wanted to work in the public sector and I like the fact that nplaw has a range of public sector clients. On the day of my interview I met a number of my now colleagues and I instantly felt comfortable and could see myself working here. I knew there would be a wide range of work and the fact that I could do a seat in every team really appealed to me.

What is the work/life balance and the wider culture like?

There is an excellent work/life balance at nplaw and the people who work here are very friendly and supportive. It is not a competitive environment, everyone just wants to do their best and get the job done which is what I really like. The flexible working hours are great as it genuinely means you can enjoy your home life whilst working hard.

What do you do out of work and what is your proudest achievement out of work?

I compete in endurance (long distance) horse riding so a lot of my time is taken up with this. I also volunteer for the sport’s national governing body Endurance GB. I was the Chair of the Young Rider Committee for 4 years and I am now on the International Committee.

What do you enjoy most about living in Norfolk?

Being near lovely beaches! I’m from the Midlands so it’s a novelty to have beaches on my doorstep.